Southern Burgundy Romanesque ChurchesAmeugny Notre-Dame
Located on the left bank of the Grosen River on a hill overlooking the Burgundy countryside is the village church of Ameugny, Notre-Dame. Notre-Dame of Ameugny was built before 1050, as that is the first time it was mentioned in writing, of red stone bricks. Notre-Dame of Ameugny is unique in that it was signed by Seguin of Malay who might have carved the engraving over the doorway that reads in part "The law of God is true." This is the only doorway of its kind in Burgundy.
Notre-Dame of Ameugny was built in two phases, the one before 1050, when the altar and bell tower were constructed and a second phase between the years 1167 and 1184 when the single nave and doorway were built. The nave of Notre-Dame is rare in that it was constricted of stone in a pointed almost like hull design.
The village of Ameugny is off the D 981 road that runs between Cluny and Saint Gengoux le National.
See a video of this church.
Hotels in Burgundy